Skip to content ↓


The Multi Academy Trust Board will comprise of five members but initially only three will be appointed from the existing Allington Primary School Academy Trust to give scope for members to be appointed from Barming and/or Academy Converter Schools joining the Multi Academy Trust as it develops in the next five years. In addition, there will be seven trustees who will not be members.

The Trust Board meet three times during the year. They are responsible for

  • The strategic management of the Trust, compliance with its articles and statutory requirements,
  • The challenge and direction of the performance and target setting by each Local Governing Body according to the agreed scheme of delegation,
  • Meeting the required outcomes of stakeholders across the academies.

The Trust will have two subcommittees: Finance and Premises Committee which includes the Audit Committee function, and Personnel Committee including Pay and Reward Committee function plus Wellbeing. 

Each Academy in the Trust has a Local Governing Body which will have a scheme of delegation agreed. There will be differences in the degree of delegation between the Trust and each LGB specific to the needs of the school and their Ofsted grading

Parents will be represented on each Local Governing Body.

Michelle Smith

Chair of the Trust (Member and Trustee) 

Nigel Smetham (Chair of the Trust; Member of the Trust Finance Committee)

Experience: Senior manager at Southern Water Services with skills in staff management, budget planning and monitoring, leadership and chairing. Management of compliance, governance and assurance procedures. Responsible Officer for Allington Primary School under grant maintained status 1994 to 1998. 

Chief Executive Officer (Ex-officio Trustee) 

Jenny Young (Executive Headteacher and Trustee)

Experience:  32 Years in the teaching profession; experience of teaching across the keystages; leading Maths, ICT and English, Keystage leader in KS1 and 2, and Deputy Head experience at two large primary schools before becoming Headteaher at Lenham Primary School in January 2010. Jenny returned to Allington Primary School as Headteacher in January 2015 and became Executive Headteacher in July 2016.

Members of the Trust (not Trustees) 

Jo Dolton (Governor and Chair of Governors for 14 years until 2013 at Allington Primary School; Member of the Trust)

Experience: A primary school teacher, deputy head and acting headteacher mostly in Kent schools apart from 4 years in Germany with the British Forces Education Service. Director at Maidstone Indoor Bowls Club (a charitable company).

Julia Hayes (Governor of Allington Primary School Academy Trust since September 2015; Member of the Trust)

Experience:  Retired from teaching in July 2015 after 32 years as a primary school teacher in London and Kent covering all years from Foundation Stage through to Key Stage 2. Experience across a range of curriculum responsibilities and management posts including Deputy Head of a large Primary School, Key Stage 1 Leader and Inclusion Leader with specific responsibility for SEND across Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1. As a member of the Senior Leadership Team at her last school she  was a trained Designated Child Protection Co-ordinator and had responsibility for Pupil Premium.

Michael Costello 

Experience: Michael Costello has been involved in governance for almost 20 years since becoming a Governor at the Maths School in Rochester.   He was Chair of the Williamson Trust, which is a MAT with two secondary schools and three primary schools, which recently merged with Leigh Academies Trust.  He has experience of governance in both maintained schools and academies, and in his role as a National Leader of Governance has supported a number of schools including as a member of an Interim Executive Board (IEB). 


Anne Mailing (Current role:  Vice Chair of the Trust; Chair of Allington LGB and Chair of the Pay and Personnel Committee: Local Authority Appointed Governor at Allington Primary School)

Experience: recently retired Head of Governor Services at Bexley Council with experience of staff management, finance and budget planning and Governor training. She has in depth knowledge of governance legislation and procedure. Management of Bexley Council’s Clerking Service. She also has experience of school improvement and is a member of the London Coordinators of Governor Services.

Hazel Crittall (Trustee; Parent Governor, Vice Chair of LGB – Allington and Member of Trust Pay and Personnel Committee)

Experience: extensive experience in all areas of recruitment, retention, employee engagement, training, development, mentoring and coaching within the private sector, underpinned by a good working knowledge of employment law. CIPD qualified, NLP Certified trainer with over 20 years’ experience in generalist HR, Management Development, Coaching, Mentoring, Team and individual training.

Marie Roberts (Trustee)

I am an Assistant Headteacher at a Free Secondary School, which opened in 2013 and I have been working in education for twelve years.  I have been heavily involved in setting up the school, ranging from the day to day running of the school, developing policies and procedures to managing staff at a whole school level.  Setting up a new school has been an invaluable experience.  My career has progressed from being Head of Department in Languages but I continue to teach French and Spanish. 

My role focuses on Personal Development, Behaviour and Welfare and I am heavily involved in the oversight of the safeguarding of students and staff, Attendance, Health and Safety and Behaviour.

I grew up in the Allington Community and I moved back to the area ten years ago.  I feel privileged to be able to use my experience to help develop the trust and to be part of the local community.

Rev Wil North (Trustee, Chair of Barming LGB)

I have been an active governor since 2013.  During that time, I have journeyed with the school through many challenges and changes, and held various roles.  Currently as well as being Chair of Governors (a post I started Sept 2018), I am the link governor for EYFS, KEY Stage Leaders and pastoral care.  At Trust level, I also sit on the board of trustees, the premises and finance committee and pay and personnel committee.  I have great belief in Barming School and am committed to helping the school, its students and staff all grow to reach their full potential.‚Äč